World Heritage Sites Defined

A UNESCO World Heritage Site is a locale deemed of significant cultural, historical, architectural, or physical value by UNESCO, dedicated to preserving humanity’s common heritage. Andalucia proudly hosts seven such sites, encompassing cultural, natural, and combined marvels.

Andalucia’s Diverse Offerings

The sites in Andalucia include the iconic Alhambra, Generalife, and Albayzín in Granada; the historic Cordoba with its Cathedral Mosque and Roman Bridge; and the monumental ensembles of Úbeda and Baeza, showcasing Renaissance architecture.

Detailed Exploration of Select Sites

Renaissance Marvels in Úbeda and Baeza

Discover the Renaissance charm of Úbeda and Baeza, two historic towns in Jaen province boasting impressive structures. Following Florence, Italy, they stand out as significant examples of this architectural style globally.

How to visit? Utilize guided tours, available by train or on foot, ensuring a comprehensive experience in each location.

Alhambra, Generalife, and Albayzín in Granada

Unravel the beauty of the Alhambra palace, a masterpiece of Moorish architecture. Generalife, within the same complex, offers a summer palace surrounded by lush gardens. Meanwhile, Albayzín, the medieval Moorish neighborhood, showcases the ancient Muslim culture of Granada.

How to visit? Plan ahead, booking tickets 6-7 weeks prior, and allocate 4 hours for a fulfilling visit.

Historic Centre of Cordoba

Explore Cordoba’s blend of cultures through its Cathedral Mosque, Roman Bridge, and historic streets. Cordoba, once the capital of the Islamic Emirate, stands testament to its historical significance.

How to visit? Dedicate 3 hours to the Cathedral-Mosque and consider a two-day visit to explore the city thoroughly.

Seville’s Trio: Cathedral, Alcázar, and Archivo de Indias

Immerse yourself in the historic quarter of Seville, featuring the iconic Cathedral, Alcázar’s royal charm, and Archivo de Indias, a historic archive of maritime expeditions.

How to visit? Plan your visit with online tickets, allocate 2 hours for the Cathedral, 3-4 hours for the Alcazar, and 1-1.5 hours for Archivo de Indias.

Cathedral, Alcázar

Doñana National Park

Delve into the biodiversity of Doñana National Park, a unique natural reserve in western Andalucía. Birdwatchers and nature enthusiasts will find solace amidst the Spanish imperial eagle and Iberian lynx habitats.

How to visit? Start your journey at Acebuche and explore the park’s trails or opt for 4×4 tours from El Rocio.

Dolmens and El Torcal of Antequera

Unearth the ancient megalithic structures of Dolmens in Antequera and the unique karst landscapes of El Torcal, declared UNESCO sites in 2016.

How to visit? Explore the Dolmens with guidance from the visitor center and enjoy El Torcal through guided tours or self-guided hikes.

Dolmens and El Torcal of Antequera

Medina Azahara, Cordoba

A hidden gem, Medina Azahara is a proposed addition to Andalucia’s UNESCO sites. This medieval Arab Muslim palatial city, mostly underground, promises a fascinating visit.

How to visit? Take a bus from Cordoba and plan a 2-hour visit, ensuring sun protection due to limited shade.

Villages of the Alpujarra

While not yet on the UNESCO list, the Alpujarras showcase traditional Berber villages in the Sierra Nevada. With slate-roofed houses, these villages offer a glimpse into Andalucia’s rich heritage.

How to visit? Plan a weekend trip, driving through Lanjaron, Pampaneira, Capileira, Bubion, and Ugijar for a scenic adventure.

Andalucia’s UNESCO Legacy

With a total of 46 UNESCO sites, Spain stands proud, boasting 40 cultural, three natural, and two mixed sites. Andalucia, a cultural haven, contributes significantly to this rich heritage.

Intangible Cultural Heritage and Tentative Lists

Beyond tangible sites, UNESCO recognizes intangible cultural heritage, encompassing traditions, crafts, and practices. Spain’s Tentative List features 33 properties, including Jaén Cathedral and Mining Historical Heritage in Andalucia.

World Biosphere Reserves in Andalucia

Andalucia’s commitment to a balanced relationship between man and nature is evident in its eight UNESCO World Network of Biosphere Reserves, such as Grazalema, Doñana, and Sierra Nevada.

Official List of UNESCO Sites in Andalucia

The exhaustive list of UNESCO sites in Andalucia spans from the iconic Alhambra in Granada to the unique cultural landscapes of Teide National Park.

  • Alhambra, Generalife and Albayzín, Granada
  • Burgos Cathedral
  • Historic Centre of Cordoba
  • Monastery and Site of the Escorial, Madrid
  • Works of Antoni Gaudí
  • Cave of Altamira and Paleolithic Cave Art of Northern Spain
  • Monuments of Oviedo and the Kingdom of the Asturias
  • Old Town of Ávila with its Extra-Muros Churches
  • Old Town of Segovia and its Aqueduct
  • Santiago de Compostela (Old Town)
  • Garajonay National Park
  • Historic City of Toledo
  • Mudejar Architecture of Aragon
  • Old Town of Cáceres
  • Cathedral, Alcázar and Archivo de Indias in Seville
  • Old City of Salamanca
  • Poblet Monastery
  • Archaeological Ensemble of Mérida
  • Routes of Santiago de Compostela: Camino Francés and Routes of Northern Spain
  • Royal Monastery of Santa María de Guadalupe
  • Doñana National Park
  • Historic Walled Town of Cuenca
  • La Lonja de la Seda de Valencia
  • Las Médulas, Galicia
  • Palau de la Música Catalana and Hospital de Sant Pau, Barcelona
  • Pyrénées – Mont Perdu
  • San Millán Yuso and Suso Monasteries
  • Prehistoric Rock Art Sites in the Côa Valley and Siega Verde Rock Art of the Mediterranean Basin on the Iberian Peninsula
  • University and Historic Precinct of Alcalá de Henares
  • Ibiza, Biodiversity and Culture
  • San Cristóbal de La Laguna
  • Archaeological Ensemble of Tárraco
  • Archaeological Site of Atapuerca
  • Catalan Romanesque Churches of the Vall de Boí
  • Palmeral of Elche
  • Roman Walls of Lugo
  • Aranjuez Cultural Landscape
  • Renaissance Monumental Ensembles of Úbeda and Baeza
  • Vizcaya Bridge
  • Teide National Park
  • Tower of Hercules
  • Cultural Landscape of the Serra de Tramuntana
  • Heritage of Mercury. Almadén and Idrija
  • Pyrenees – Mont Perdu
  • Dolmenes and Torcal of Antequera


Embarking on a journey through Andalucia’s UNESCO World Heritage Sites is an immersive experience, offering a glimpse into the region’s rich cultural, historical, and natural tapestry.


1. How many UNESCO World Heritage Sites are there in Andalucia?
– Andalucia boasts seven UNESCO World Heritage Sites.

2. Which site is the most recently listed in Andalucia?
– The Antequera Dolmens, a combined cultural and natural site, earned UNESCO recognition in 2016.

3. Are there any proposed additions to Andalucia’s UNESCO sites?
– Yes, Medina Azahara in Cordoba is proposed, with a significant part still underground and unexcavated.

4. How many biosphere reserves does Andalucia have?
– Andalucia has eight biosphere reserves, showcasing a balanced relationship between man and nature.

5. What is the significance of the Dolmens and El Torcal in Antequera?
– The Dolmens of Menga, Viera, and Romeral represent ancient megalithic structures, while El Torcal features unique karst landscapes.